Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

3DMy Star Trek Thread

• evil_genius_180evil_genius_1804256 Posts: 11,034Member
    A bit time consuming.

They look like they're a real pill to get exactly right.
  • FreakFreak1088 Posts: 4,361Member
    Pylons are looking good.
    If you make a variant of this ship, lose the nacelle where the bridge is meant to be.
    I hate that thing on this ship.
    Freak wrote: »
    Pylons are looking good.
    If you make a variant of this ship, lose the nacelle where the bridge is meant to be.

B-but, that's so the saucer can travel at warp. :p
  • BrandenbergBrandenberg1664 CaliforniaPosts: 1,940Member
    Freak wrote: »
    Pylons are looking good.
    I had never noticed it until I started drawing it. It really doesn't work at all. You're right. I am going to do my own variant with another way of propulsion for the saucer.

Here is the work I have started on the underside of the main hull.
    3uutfu1kjohh.png

evil_genius_180Lizzy777
    edited April 2020 #846
    They look like they're a real pill to get exactly right.
    OH YEAH.
    They of course do that annoying thing where they intersect a level hull. They drop down at a 15 degree angle from the engines and so the front of the pylon is higher than the back because it arrives at the hull first. Furthermore, they have an airplane wing cross section, a taper, and a twist to meet the hull, not to mention that the leading and trailing edges are curved.
    Post edited by Brandenberg on
    Looking Good.

If the ship just split into two along the horizontal line it would not be such a issues.

But having the upper saucer Armour come off as well does not work for me.
    Then you got think about engine space. As each separation would need it own warp core, fuel etc.