Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

3DBSG- Battlestar Raven

arashikamiarashikami0 Posts: 0Member
edited June 2010 in Work in Progress #1
My name is Rob, and I have been working in 3D for a few years now. One of my first serious attempts at modeling has been Ravenstar Studios Raven class Battlestar. Right now most of the serious details are on the ship's flight pods.

I know there is a lot more details to add to the model, and my question for the more experienced members is how to add more detail to a model without overloading my system. I am running a quad core 2.3 proccessor with 4GB of ram. My program of choice is Maya 2008

Thanks,
Rob
68030.jpg
68036.jpg
68037.jpg
Post edited by arashikami on

• CXCX0 Posts: 0Member
    I like it, it definitely fits in well with the other Battlestar designs we've seen. My only real nitpicks are that I think all the main guns should be the same size, and I think the three you have in the center of the flight pods are too close together to move very effectively.
  • blackbird17blackbird170 Posts: 0Member
    This is one mean looking Battlestar, looking forward to seeing more updates.
  • ChiletrekChiletrek0 Posts: 0Member
    Hello:
    The design is a very good one, and it seems to be contemporary to Mercury class ships. Keep it up! :thumb:
  • SyklonSyklon0 Posts: 0Member
    arashikami wrote: »
    I know there is a lot more details to add to the model, and my question for the more experienced members is how to add more detail to a model without overloading my system.
    I use Max, so I can't give specifics, but I assume Maya must have some sort of system to hide/unhide objects. Having things broken up into separate parts to detail and only having them all together and unhidden for full ship renders should help.

Nice looking ship so far.
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User]2 Posts: 3Member
    I like this one. It looks like a Battlestar that has the hull of a Whitestar