Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

3DJJEnterprise based on Tobias Richter's work

• nightfevernightfever361 Posts: 585Member
    This is looking really good. But poly count will increase again if you chamfer the edges. I can tell you chamfering the V cuts will be a pain.
  • x2egox2ego0 Posts: 0Member
    More pain? Thank goodness I'm a masochist :lol:
    Doesn't look like much work today, and it wasn't, but...
    I am trying different approaches to modeling these complex shapes while keeping the spline count manageable. Lot's of trial and error, and doing things twice or three times:o

It's kind of a pain in the you know where, when everything is self taught. Thank goodness for many of the wonderful tutorials on the web. Special thanks to Chris Tate for his excellent tuts.
    91079.jpg
    TR20.jpg 102.8K
  • Chris2005Chris2005678 Posts: 3,097Member
    Looking good.

What's the poly count thus far?
    AMD Ryzen 9 5900X
    Gigabyte RTX 3080 Gaming OC 12GB
    1TB NVMe SSD, 2 x 1GB SATA SSD, 4TB external HDD
    32 GB RAM
    Windows 11 Pro
  • evil_genius_180evil_genius_1804256 Posts: 11,034Member
    Yeah, that's definitely looking good. I can see where this ship would be hard to keep lowish poly, it's all curves.
    Spline count right now is at 412,500. Once I'm done with modeling, I'll go through the mesh and thin it out. I bet I can get it down 20 to 25% or more without altering the shape too much.
    Wow, what a challenge! Every piece is giving me trouble. Getting the skin smooth while putting cuts or lines in the skin is giving me fits. Just making that top part of the nacelle is a process. I guess I'm just tired. Will post an update when I have something worthwhile to show.
    Finally some progress! I was having loads of trouble getting the vent taper to look smooth, but I persevered. Always learning in the process, so hopefully things will speed up a bit.
    91115.jpg
    TR21.jpg 175.1K