Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

3DLearning Blender

• GestaltGestalt187 Posts: 166Member
    I'll spare you all my continued loathing of all things Illustrator.

The short story is, I've finally found a way to make the Aztec pattern I want, even if it's a bit less authentic than the original. We'll call it my spin on the Aztec pattern for now.

The upper saucer with Aztec v0.5 (portion by the VIP deck not yet started).
    Constitution_Refit_654_002.png

I've got a lot more to learn and I'm only getting started on the texture but I'm really happy with this start. I've cooked up a few Cycles recipes that I think will take this to the next level but those will have to wait until the weekend. I've deferred a bit too much of my work studies for my liking so I'll be doing some serious cramming for the next week. I should have some updates as study breaks over the next two weeks, though.

Let me know what you think and I'm definitely interested in any suggested resources for Cycles/nodes texturing.
    107302.png
  • Chris2005Chris2005678 Posts: 3,097Member
    Looks good to me.

What's different about it compared to the original?
    AMD Ryzen 9 5900X
    Gigabyte RTX 3080 Gaming OC 12GB
    1TB NVMe SSD, 2 x 1GB SATA SSD, 4TB external HDD
    32 GB RAM
    Windows 11 Pro
  • evil_genius_180evil_genius_1804256 Posts: 11,034Member
    It looks great, nice and subtle. From what I can tell, the pattern looks good. I wouldn't worry about trying to be too faithful to the original. That ship has been painted and repainted so many times that it's hard to say what is "original." ;)
    The first only had the lettering stencils while the second has the beginnings of my Aztec pattern to break up the surface. It's a beautiful way to lend some sense of reality to the otherwise 2 dimensional plates. I can only hope that I do it some justice.