Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

3DR2-D2 (Artoo Detoo)

• ChrisGFXChrisGFX362 GermanyPosts: 607Member
    mverta wrote: »
    Yes, I export a UV map for each object, and texture in Photoshop on top of the UV map. I stitch photos together, clone, etc...

_Mike

where do you find your "Star Wars" photos ... do you use photos from the original models or do you just have a huge photo archive and make them look like SW? :)

Sorry for my dumb questions ... I'm a semipro Photographer but I'm an absolutely amateur hobbyist in 3D and 3D Texturing/Mapping ... I'm learing :)

Greets

Chris :)
  • mvertamverta171 Posts: 0Member
    Well in this case, most of R2's textures came from photos of R2 himself. Ordinarily, I use any of several terrabytes of photos for my textures.. just tons of stuff, doors, airplane wreckage, rusty pipes, a huge variety. If there's an art to texturing, it comes from being able to see things like the bottom of last night's dinner pan as the source for, say, concentric anisotropic rings on a bearing.

_Mike
    Thank you very much for your explainations ... very helpfull for me :)

Greets

• JeffrySGJeffrySG321 Posts: 477Member
    SideBySide_1.jpg

_Mike

This post / image more than any of the others really shows how great a model/render your R2 really is! This has been a very cool thread to follow for all the little stories about the ranch and all the great tips as well! :thumb:
    So, thanks again for sharing it all with use here!

ps. your entry at the CGSphere is very a very good use of your R2 as well. ;)

--Jeff
  • Dr. JonesDr. Jones0 Posts: 0Member