Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

3DModelling the Legacy Class MK II

CLEMARCCLEMARC0 Posts: 0Member
edited March 2015 in Work in Progress #1
Hi there,

I started modelling this nice ship here in Blender (thx to Galen82 for the schematics):

Legacy_Class_Poster_sample_by_Galen82.jpg

This is what I have done so far:

first_render.png

Not really much I know :(

I have little experience in 3D modelling, but mostly interior stuff. So I am stuck at the hull section of the ship. I tried some different things, like doing a box and then loop cut it and so on. But I dont get the front of the hull section right. Has anyone a tip for me how I should try it?

Regards,

CLEMARC
106870.jpg
106871.png
Post edited by CLEMARC on
Tagged:

• McCMcC373 Posts: 704Member
    It looks like a solid start to me. Not sure what issue you're having, exactly?

I have a bunch of tutorials, Blender-specific, about how to tackle common starship modeling techniques here. Perhaps that will offer some insight?
  • CLEMARCCLEMARC0 Posts: 0Member
    Thx, the subdivision tutorial helped me a lot.

I'm talking about this area (green), especially the red part:

Legacy_Class_Poster_sample_by_Galen82_marked.jpg
    106872.jpg
    Most Starfleet hulls of that style are fundamentally "cigar shaped," and so it usually makes sense to start them from a cylinder. Alternately, you can start them with a box and reshape it, but you usually end up with a faceted cylinder anyway.