Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

Sketchup 3d and blender?

[Deleted User][Deleted User]11 Posts: 4,002Member
After seeing some excellent models in sketchup 3d and hearing it's really simple to use I'm going to try it while awaiting blender's newest version.

I have some questions, of course.

I have the free sketchup, can I export models from it into blender? Can blender import sketchup models?

Is it really as easy to ue as some people have been saying?

Are there any pdf tuts for it? I saw the special tuts for it on the SU 3D site and was impressed at how they worked.

I once tried exporting things made in blender to a rendered that was supposed to work with blender and it all just sucked. Is it hard t export SU3D models to some free renderers to get good results? Can blender export to Bryce, which I have? Can bryce import SU3D models?

Is there a SU3D forum site for newbies at it like me? I have some experience with 3d from sculpt animate, bryce and blender, how does SU3D differ? How is it the same?
Post edited by Unknown User on

• MelakMelak332 Posts: 0Member
    Many questions, and since I don't use either of the programs you mention I can only answer one:

Kerkythea seems to be the favored renderer for sketchup by the people on here who use it :)
  • SphynxSphynx195 Posts: 461Member
    As far as I am aware (a more regular Sketchup user will be able to confirm or deny this), the free version of Sketchup is unable to export models at all. They may have changed things, but the first release certainly did not have the facility - you needed to upgrade to perform that type of thing.
  • YIIMMYIIMM179 Posts: 96Member
    After seeing some excellent models in sketchup 3d and hearing it's really simple to use I'm going to try it while awaiting blender's newest version.

I have some questions, of course.

I have the free sketchup, can I export models from it into blender? Can blender import sketchup models?