Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

3DConstructing a ConnieA2

2»

• wjasperswjaspers332 Posts: 0Member
    anystar wrote: »
    have any of you had any experience with this?

I import from AutoCad to 3dsmax on a regular base, so you can say I have some experience with this.

When you import from DWG you will need to tell max how it needs to convert the AutoCad solids in to 3dsmax meshes. This is done in the import geometrie panel, by adjusting the "curve steps" (how smooth to convert curves) and "surface deviation" (how many polies it will create per mm or inch).
    Don't check the autosmooth box, it is easier to do this with smooth modifier.

But as usual, you can find this in the help file.:)
  • anystaranystar0 Posts: 0Member
    thanks for the great tips, but i'm coming to the conclusion that it is all just product of error on my part way back when i began the project files.

while i had the display settings in autocad turned up the actual geometry creation for 3d objects was set down at defaults :( basically i was being fooled by auto-smoothing from the display settings, when my actual objects were much too simple.

also since all my objects are for the most part multiply lofted and boolean creations i have found no way yet to refine them. :(:(:(

i have begun a new version of the E (calling this one 6.0). i'm re-creating the nacelle first, using autocad. so i can see if my new program parameters will translate any better :cool: barring any other distractions i should have the CAD version done by tomorrow night, then we can see how it works out. otherwise i'll have to just start working it fully in Max
    I've made an executive decision to just continue this one in autocad for the time being. i'll continue to work on a Max version now and then. but untill i develop my Max skills more it just isnt meant to be!