Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

The Best Modelling Program for a Beginner

[Deleted User][Deleted User]11 Posts: 4,002Member
Hi everyone,

As you can probably already tell, I'm new to the forum. I am seeking advice on which program would be best to start out modelling star ships in. I'm trying to see if I could perhaps begin modelling sometime soon. I've heard about 3DS Max and seen some of the work that it produces, but I don't have any experience in any type of 3D modelling/redering program. I do have some experience in AutoCAD though. Sorry if I'm being a tad vague, but I don't have a lot of experience to go on. I know that most of you are experienced with a multitude of programs so any help is very much appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Justice.
Post edited by Unknown User on

• PulsePulse0 Posts: 0Member
    Justice, I have used many platforms, since I am a 3d game modeler I will tell you what I think, but its just my opinion! There are many 3d platforms out there, some very complex and some with lots of potential! My advice would be to start with what you know and go from there! 3dsmax is what I use, but the learning curve is not to bad, since you have prior experience in Autocad! Also Cinema 4d is a popular choice, since its so well set up for the a novice, jumping in and pulling something out is pretty easy!
    I don't use Blender 3d but I hear it's quite excellent and it's free.

Best advice is read up on these and there are others like Lightwave and Maya as well.

The best I couldn't tell you but a great place to start is a freebee program called Wings3d and google sketchup! I hope that helped!
  • spudmonkeyspudmonkey0 Posts: 0Member
    Most 3d apps have trial versions and as Pulse says there are lots of free ones. The best thing to do is to try different products and see which one you like, assuming it fits in with your price range of course!
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User]2 Posts: 3Member