Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

LW 9 - Removing hard edges from complex geometry

ScatterScatter0 Posts: 0Member
Hey peeps.

Attached is an image that will say more than words can, but hey, you came in this thread to read, right? :D

I know this is going to be stupidly simple, because I've spent hours trying to figure it out, and have probably stared at the solution the whole time. Anyways, what I want to do is remove the hard edge from two joining dome shapes that are pretty much perpendicular to each other. I've tried using rounder and all those tools, but to no avail. I'm aware the main problem is that I'm using simple geometry to create complex shapes, and that I should probably be using splines/curves/metabollocks/whatever, but I'm an amateur at this, and these are my baby steps.

Sooooooo... any suggestions on how I do this? I want to get a rounded edge from point A to point B. The Rounder tool crashes in disgust at the very thought of it, and none of the other tools that I've tried come anywhere close to what I want.

The second question is probably/maybe more a matter of opinion - Should I be rounding these edges as I create my mesh, or wait til the overall structure is finished, and then do the finite amount of edge softening etc. Atm, I'm guessing it's the latter, as doing it as I go will mean having to do the same work twice as pieces are cut away/added/reshaped versus waiting til the basic shape is finished and working around the complexity.

Cheers for any help in advance.
Post edited by Scatter on

• IRMLIRML253 Posts: 1,993Member
    rounder should do that no problem, but you probably should be making shapes like that with Sub-Ds

selecting your points for rounder may be a pain, but it handles stuff really well, usually if you've modelled well you won't have much cleanup to do
  • TheMightySpudTheMightySpud1 Posts: 0Member