Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

3DaPepaah's TOS Enterprise WIP

APEPAAAHAPEPAAAH1 Posts: 0Member
Hi Everyone

I've been working on this model of the TOS connie in Lightwave for the last few weeks. I'm a sort-of novice at everything; I did try to learn modelling about 10 years ago, but didn't get very far and never stuck with it.

I'm trying my best to reference the recently restored 11-foot model for everything, but since some of the schematics available for the ship online aren't always accurate and are sometimes self-contradicting, I've made a few mistakes, especially with the contour of the saucer, which is too late to fix now.

I've spent an enormous amount of time trying to get the surface properties of the nacelle domes to look right under different lighting situations, but I'm quite proud of how they look now. They're actually built as a crude mock-up of the original lighting rig used in the studio model; there are two translucent domes, two fans and some luminous geometry for the light bulbs.

Here she is:

test2004.jpgtest2006.jpgtest2007.png

I also have some cool renders of it against a schematic they used as a painting guide from the Smithsonian, but I'm not sure if that would be allowed as the images are from TrekCore.

Criticism is most welcome, and if anyone can point me to some good tips/tutorials for how to map on the textures I would be very grateful!
112287.jpg
112288.jpg
112289.png
Tagged:

• BolianAdmiralBolianAdmiral1188 Torrance, CaliforniaPosts: 2,629Member
    Wow... that looks spectacular! I don't see any issues with the saucer... what do you think is wrong with it?
  • APEPAAAHAPEPAAAH1 Posts: 0Member
    Wow... that looks spectacular!

Thank you! :)
    I don't see any issues with the saucer... what do you think is wrong with it?