Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

3DWIP Akira-class [Star Trek]

Arsene LupinArsene Lupin1 Posts: 0Member
edited June 2017 in Work in Progress #1
Well, hello everyone. This is my first post here and... good grief is this one hell of an intimidating community. You are all so ridiculously, amazingly talented I can't even imagine myself ever coming close to approaching the average skill level here. It's nuts.

Anyway, I play around with 3D models in my spare time, using Google SketchUp. I've been modeling for about two years now, mostly either building my own (original) starships--most of which were early enough in my career that they're simply too amateurish to share--and Star Trek ships.

And it's the latter that brings me here. All the work I've shared publicly you can find at the 3D Warehouse, here:

https://3dwarehouse.sketchup.com/user.html?id=1085868953901063482433374&nav=models

Please check it out if your curious.

Anyway, I am currently hoping for some advice/feedback on my current WIP Akira-class model, which I have been working on, off-and-on, since September 2016. I recently learned how to create non-standard meshes (IE how to incorporate S-Curves and use the circle tool to increase/decrease the number of polygons used) and... that made me ambitious. So I decided to try and make a model of one of my favorite Star Trek ships, and honestly I'm probably attempting to do something beyond my abilities. Anyway, here's what the model looks like right now:

Akira WIP.png

Akira WIP 2.png

The bridge dome, latter half of the upper saucer, and weapons pod are all placeholders. Beyond that, I also need to add some panel lines to the nacelle pylons, a little bit of geometry to the nacelles themselves, and a whole bunch of torpedo ports. I probably will not model any RCS thrusters, and in my experience they're more trouble than it's worth.

I suppose I should explain my "modeling style."