Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

3Dmy new project: NX-Phoenix from ST-First Contact

anystaranystar0 Posts: 0Member
edited July 2013 in Work in Progress #1
My Son recently found my old model rockets up in the attic, and just thought it was awesome that he could make models that he could "blow up" yes thats his goal to lauch a rocket and explode it... but anyway :lol:

It was all i needed to get this one rolling, i've been wanting to make a replica of the Phoenix for years and this was all the nudge i needed. i plan to have the finished product 3d printed, then maybe try vac-forming to get a lightweight version, but we'll get to that when we get to it. i want the final version to be full RC with some sort of camoflaged or clear glider wings and a camera setup.'

this is just a rough draft of the nose/cockpit section that i worked up over the weekend:
i'm still studying the main body parts, i'm having trouble finding good reference for it, so i'll probably work up the titan rocket shell next.
100424.jpg
Post edited by anystar on

• spacefighterspacefighter2 Posts: 0Member
    i recognise it from the film star trek first contact, looks good but the texturing and details need to be added along the rest of the fuselage.
  • anystaranystar0 Posts: 0Member
    the lower 2/3 of the missile's first stage is done, still working on the rest since it needs the insides done too for the breakaway.

theres a LOT more geometry than i was expecting, even standing in front of the real things before i never really paid attention to how they were built. :lol:

still working on the new version of the nose too, this time its based on the full size prop instead of the model. still think its going to be the one i go with.

Tii_S1-01.jpg
    100157.jpg
  • VALKYRIE013VALKYRIE013547 Posts: 1,473Member