Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

3DSnow shaders

skarlathskarlath0 Posts: 0Member
edited January 2011 in Work in Progress #1
hey people
just working on this snow and ice shader here.
let me know what you think
86825.jpg
Post edited by skarlath on
Tagged:

• sarabandosarabando0 Posts: 0Member
    it looks great but being a total newb could you explain it abit more please? show me your work process ect?
  • skarlathskarlath0 Posts: 0Member
    Basicly uses angle fall off to add translucency towards blue that snow has, a normal bump texture map to add some bump and cellular displacement.
    Uses world z to determain max angle for the snow in wich case the ice then shows underneath. ice has a bunch of bump maps assinged in reflect and refraction to get the scratchy ice look plus some self illum to thicken up the colour so its not compleatly see through
  • Stevie_DStevie_D191 Posts: 155Member
    Very neat! It looks great, infact.

It certainly does what it says on the tin - an icy cold teapot that certainly gives me the chills!

I wouldn't fiddle with the settings much at all if i were you. It hits the spot so closely.
  • IRMLIRML253 Posts: 1,993Member
    it looks great but it's slightly off right now, like maybe the snow looks too matte, needs to have a bit of sparkle thrown in there, but the ice effect is great

also I think some colour in the key light and some brightness changes would help make it more convincing

really good work anyway
    yea its looking a bit flat, im trying to get the tiny displacement working, using a cellular nosie set to 0.1 size i think but it donst seem to show
  • AardwolfAardwolf171 Posts: 82Member
    Is the actual blue color something intrinsic to the material, or is it just the ambient lighting?

Edit: I mean in real life