Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

How do I model Galaxy, Sovereign, Intrepid Secondary Hulls?

TrekologistTrekologist0 Posts: 0Member
Hello All,

I have been modeling in 3d for a few years now, and have created several models of 22nd ships. To date, I have only learned how to model cylindrical secondary hulls, and have not had much success using box modeling or other techniques to model non-cylindrical secondary hulls.

What are some good techniques that are used to model secondary hulls? Do you use the box modeling technique?

Are there any tutorials out there that teach how to model complex non-cylindrical secondary hulls? :confused:

I would like to model a secondary hull like the one seen on the sovereign or intrepid.

Any advice is greatly appreciated!
Thanks in advance for the help!

I am using 3d studio max.
Trekologist :devil:
Post edited by Trekologist on

• IRMLIRML253 Posts: 1,993Member
    you've asked one of those questions that doesn't have a specific answer

those style ships are stuff you tend to model when you have an understanding of sub-ds, I don't know of any specific tutorial that deals with a trek ship like that, but look at any sort of sub-d tutorial and give it a go

I would actually say the best way to learn how to model a complex hull is to try it yourself once you know the basics of sub-ds, there will be a lot of trial and error but you will definately learn as you go
  • TrekologistTrekologist0 Posts: 0Member
    Thanks for the reference to Sub-D materials. I have some experience w/ rendering... my work can be viewed here:
    http://www.scifi-meshes.com/forums/showthread.php?76039-Trekologist-s-Trek-WIP-s&highlight=Trekologist

So far, I have only been able to manipulate cylindrical (constitution style hulls). Very much open to suggestions..., but will look into sub 's.

IRML wrote: »
    you've asked one of those questions that doesn't have a specific answer