Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

3DSS Robert Goddard

walpurgiswalpurgis181 Posts: 0Member
edited August 2010 in Work in Progress #1
this is the latest incarnation of an Idea Ive been sitting on for a couple of years- a trek ship with a ring shaped nacelle I realise that others have done this concept before but I like my version anyway:)
any how here she is: the SS Robert Goddard.
83591.png
83592.png
Post edited by walpurgis on
Tagged:

• commandersozocommandersozo492 Posts: 628Member
    nice concept! look forward to see it more developed ...
  • walpurgiswalpurgis181 Posts: 0Member
    thanks!
    unfortunately, I have no idea where to go from here
  • AresiusAresius359 Posts: 4,171Member
    I recall such an idea from the BC-filefront, where someone thought about how it would've been if the Vulcans had far more influence on the human spaceflight projects.

I like the idea, having a ring-shaped warp-engine.
  • walpurgiswalpurgis181 Posts: 0Member
    I think I first picked up the idea of a ring-shaped nacelle from "The Furry Conflict" a rather silly, though well written and interesting SW/ST crossover fanfic (and associated website) which is now, sadly, defunct.
    anyhow, ever since then Ive been designing various ships with (a) ring shaped nacelle(s). the Goddard actually started out as a modified oberth- class starship, with a single nacelle running all the way around the command hull
  • liam887liam887322 SwedenPosts: 575Member
    before you go any further you should have more segments in the saucer and ring sections, it ill spoil the overall design when its done!
    Great concept tho.
    I usually find 32 segments does the trick and then smoothen the edges, if you haven't got a clue what im talking about ill write a little tutorial for you now would only take a few mins?