Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

Help with shields please

tormoxtormox171 Posts: 0Member
Hi, im a bit of a noob to animation but for my college work im creating i space battle, ive built the models etc but i dont know how to create the shields for my ships, im using 3ds max 9 and i would like a stargate affect. also if possible i would like it to go colored like it does in stargate when the weapons beams ive made hit it. any step by step info would be much appreciated. thank you in advance
Post edited by tormox on

• BrickheadBrickhead176 Posts: 0Member
    This needs to be moved to 3D Questions and Answers. I have no MOD powers in here.
  • GuerrillaGuerrilla797 HelsinkiPosts: 2,868Administrator
    Moving to 3d Q&A.
    Comco: i entered it manually in the back end
    Join our fancy Discord Server!
  • MelakMelak332 Posts: 0Member
    I know exactly what you are looking for: ..::xenomorphic.co.uk::..
  • tormoxtormox171 Posts: 0Member
    sorry for using wrong area. That sites shield sounds ideal altough I'm to much of a novice to really understand it, any chance on step by step instructions, many thanks
  • ComcoComco317 Posts: 1,281Administrator
    tormox - That tutorial really shows great technique - I've yet to see a better one for animations, personally. Feel free to ask questions here on the tut if you like. If you're having trouble understanding what some of it means, you might find some members that are willing to help out...
    A few years ago, we would have quite painstaking operation, manually positioning and keyframing off gradients when particles or geometry intersect with the shield geometry we have set up in the scene. However, with Particle Flow we can key all of this off automatically and, if you want to take it further, even have the shields fail after a period of time or number of impacts so the ship itself is shot to hell… it is simply just a matter of setting up the desired events.