Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

animation - how?

hoktarhoktar0 Posts: 1Member
i have to do an animation for school (in c4d),of course i choose a scifi animation ;) (stargate sg1/sga).
well, but now the "problem" is, i never did an animation befor, only stills.
i mean a really animation. ok, made ships move from a to b and stuff like that but no real battle scene or something interesting you know...

so i would be really very happy for any help!:p

for example, what is the best way to use cameras for space scenes?
letting them move along splines?

i'm really a totally noob on animations:rolleyes:

(it would be amazing if anyone could give me a file with a short animation (3 seconds or so ^^) only that i know how to build such a scene.),
i'm telling you because the animation needs to be finished in about 4 weeks.
the ships are almost finished but the animation...
Post edited by hoktar on

• GuerrillaGuerrilla797 HelsinkiPosts: 2,868Administrator
    Moving to 3d Q&A.
    Comco: i entered it manually in the back end
    Join our fancy Discord Server!
  • Andrew BoultonAndrew Boulton0 Posts: 0Member
    The "best way" rather depends on what it is you're trying to do. How long is the animation, and what happens?
  • L2KL2K0 Posts: 0Member
    1st thing ALWAYS : draw a storyboard.

you'll think about what, where, when, what moves, what not
    you'll draw all of this on a paper, like a comic strip.
    only when this is finished, you begin to model, texture, rig and animate.
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User]2 Posts: 3Member
    For space animation I usually use splines. Make sure the splines in C4D are set to "uniform", by default they're set to "adaptive", which will make the ship jump along the straights really fast and go around the corners really slow.
    I would probably use splines for the camera

Cinema 4D also has a "Vibrate" tag that is great for simulating camera shake ;)