Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

3D S/Ware for a Noob? Need advice.

KiwiKidKiwiKid0 Posts: 0Member
Hi Everyone,

This is my first post. I'm a noob as far as 3d Modeling goes - came from a 2D Autocad background, but being unaffordable outside a commercial environment I've been using Turbocad 11 for my 2D stuff. Unfortunately, there doesn't seem to be a lot of current documentation for it, or tutorials - especially to describe 3D.

Being a physical modeler (mostly Plastic and resin) I wish to create things in a virtual format for reference.

So I need some advice on software. I've been exploring Blender and following through some tutorials. It's been fun, but it seems like a funny way to build things by using cubes and modifying them. Is this the way other s/ware packages do thing? There seem such a lot of them. I don't mind spending money for the right package.

Your thoughts please - Thx :)
Post edited by KiwiKid on

• Andrew MarchAndrew March0 Posts: 0Member
    My thoughts would be to explore other packages by downloading trial versions.

Here's a previous thread on the subject: http://www.scifi-meshes.com/forums/135674-post2.html
  • fluxfirefluxfire181 Posts: 604Member
    It realy depends on what you are looking to spend and what kind of work your going to be doing with the program if your gonna use just the modler and not the animator i would say Max or LW. Now if you want it for animation i would say LW or Cinema 4D.

But if cost is the biggest factor then i would say look round till you find some thing you like in your price range.
  • tetsujintetsujin0 Posts: 0Member
    KiwiKid wrote: »
    Being a physical modeler (mostly Plastic and resin) I wish to create things in a virtual format for reference.