Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

DirectX Meshes

ryaneryane0 Posts: 0Member
First off, I'm not a modeler, I'm a programmer, and currently I am taking a basic game design class. While the focus is on mechanics and code and not modeling and art in any way, I still like to try and use the best things I can find.

That being said, my next assignment is a sort of space simulator/fighter application. I am doing everything in directx right now and have only used *.x files for my meshes. I've been trying to convert meshes made in other apps to *.x format, but am not having any luck.

So far I have tried 3D Studio Max with the Pandasoft plugin, which creates a mesh file that looks like it should work(the text file looks like a normal .x file), but I always get a "Failed to load model" error in the DirectX Viewer. I also tried a program called NuGraf by Okino, which somewhat works. It gives me errors when exporting, but does create a mesh that will load. The problem is that I lose all textures (I think is part of the error when I export), it deletes every 5th polygon, and a number of other nasty limitations on the trial version (small, watermark, etc).

Other than that I haven't been able to find much online. I was wondering if anyone had any experience with this or at least a direction I could be pointed in. I'm going to start researching using other mesh formats in directX tonight. This project hasn't even been assigned yet, but I've been trying to get some legwork done early so I can make a program that is somewhat worth playing.

Any help is appreciated, thanks!
Post edited by ryane on

• Andrew MarchAndrew March0 Posts: 0Member
    I think you're probably going to have more luck posting this on a games related forum, since most people here will want to get the models from games into 3D Applications and not vice versa.
  • DeadlyDarknessDeadlyDarkness0 Posts: 0Member