Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

Blender: managing bone roll angles

tetsujintetsujin0 Posts: 0Member
I'm hoping someone can help me with this problem.

I recently added a "double piston" to my Zaku Kai mesh, in the upper leg. The piston is supposed to extend as the knee bends.

I'm having a few problems with this. First off, I can't get the bone roll angle quite precise - which means that if I use a locked track to make the two halves of each piston track each other, and lock the direction of the bone's X axis, the piston tilts off-target slightly as it extends. It'd never be noticeable in practice but as a modeler I hate that kind of sloppiness. I've mitigated the problem by getting the orientation of the bones' X axes as close as possible to the intended direction, and then using an IK solver (with Y rotation locked, Z limited to a few degrees, and X limited to reasonable limits) instead of a locked track. It works, but what it really means in practice is that the pistons are rolling relative to the leg (slightly) as the knee bends. I could solve the problem if I could just make the Z axis of the bone point straight forward (as much as is possible without changing the positions of the bone's endpoints, anyway) but I don't know how to do that in edit mode - apart from doing it manually.

The other problem is that when I grab the IK target for the leg, move it, and then abort, the piston will sometimes wind up pointing out the side of the leg. I'm guessing it's just a bug in Blender - I can fix it by grabbing the armature again.