Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

3DThe Star Wars Project

• DarkSapiensDarkSapiens174 Posts: 0Member
    Nice corridor! Glad to see this is still well underway! :)
  • BigTBigT77 Posts: 95Member
    I've made a first little teaser by using some noisy lo-fi clips of arranged scenes and adding some sound effects.
    https://vimeo.com/131105833
  • DarkSapiensDarkSapiens174 Posts: 0Member
    Very very cool! :thumb:

Everything looks great, except, I think, the planet as seen from space at 0:20. I have some experience rendering views of planets and I'd recommend two things: one would be getting rid of the bump unless you can find a much higher resolution one (and also making it more subtle), and the other would be trying to get actual cloud maps to use with the alpha and bump channels on, because that way it'll look much better. You can find some cloud maps in the Celestia Motherlode but I think they're tiled, and just googling "planet textures cloud map" you can get some in one single image although at lower resolution.

Hope it helps!

EDIT: Actually, I think here's a very good one: http://www.shadedrelief.com/natural3/pages/clouds.html
  • evil_genius_180evil_genius_1804256 Posts: 11,034Member
    That looks really cool. I agree about the planet bumpiness, though I don't think you should have it at all if you're going for reality. If you look at images of Earth and Mars, etc. from that distance, you can't see definition in the mountains, ravines and whatnot. It pretty much just looks flat. You have to get much closer to see bumpiness. Though, that's only if you're going for reality. I can't say I've never done bumps from distances like that. ;) (it's just fun)

The clips really came together nicely as a great preview of what you're doing. I loved seeing the Wild Karrde in that last clip. I'd forgotten you'd modeled that one. :D
  • stonkystonky350 Posts: 489Member