Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

Lightwave Question: Cutting Grid Lines

evil_genius_180evil_genius_1804256 Posts: 11,034Member
I'm sure this has been asked before, but I can't find much help using Google. I found some old threads on the Foundation 3D forums, but nothing overly helpful. As some people know, I'm new to Lightwave but not new to 3D. So, I started a project yesterday and I'm wondering: what's the best way to cut grid lines into a hull? IE: hull plate separation lines, deflector shield grid lines, whatever you want to call them.

In my former program, (TrueSpace) I had a fairly simple way of laying out cubes and modifying them to fit my needs and then cutting them into the hull. I could certainly do the same here, but I'm thinking there may be a better way to do things. For one thing, Lightwave has better edge tools than TrueSpace does.

So, I know we have some Lightwave users here, how do you guys do it? Or are there any tutorials out there for doing this? Any and all advice will be greatly appreciated, but please Lightwave users only. I don't need "This is how I do it in Program X, you may be able to do the same." I'm new to this software, so I don't know what a number of the tools do, so I don't know if I can adapt something from another program.

Information that may be helpful: I have Lightwave 10.1 and 09.6.1. I'm using 10.1 to build this model though, layout and tool wise, I've not noticed a huge difference between 9.X and 10.X, so I can likely use a 9.X method in 10.1.
Post edited by evil_genius_180 on
Tagged:

• IRMLIRML253 Posts: 1,993Member
    I mainly use the drill tool

in another layer you make a flat poly the shape of the panel you want, and then set it as a background layer with the geometry you want to cut in the foreground, then run drill set to the appropriate axis

you can also use solid drill with a 3D stencil that intersects the geometry