Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

DAZ Studio, Hexagon, Bryce 7 Free.

HundredHundred268 Posts: 1,021Member
edited March 2012 in General Discussion #1
They're giving them away if anyone's interested. http://www.daz3d.com/
Post edited by Hundred on

• BlueCatShipBlueCatShip0 Posts: 0Member
    Newbie here, 2nd post. Experienced elsewhere, but brand new to 3D.

A friend recommended the DAZ3D products, said they're free right now. I've wished for them for many years, but never tried them.

I had trouble registering, then getting the confirmation / activation email, and then found Contact Info (email) was available only to registered users...but I hadn't received the email. I went through, checked for typos in my email address, and tried "I forgot my password," in order to have it resend an email. That also got no results, or so I thought.

(Relax, I'm not going on a rant, there's a point and a better outcome.)

I was mystified as a designer, why a company with a long reputation and good products would not have an email address in plain sight for every visitor to contact their company. I'll admit I still don't understand that; it's poor design, IMHO.

I did manage to get to a block, "If you still have problems, Contact Us." But that link goes to a 404 Not Found page with a dorky but cute flightless bird. I'm trying not to think of it being a dodo bird and trying not to take that personally. It's just a cute bird for humor value. At least they did better than boring business as usual. But again, heading to contact info by another route and not getting anything but a "not found" is NOT what their company should want to happen.

I nearly gave up on getting the free stuff. I had planned to buy one of the starter packages too.

Then when I told the friends who'd recommended the free products, one said she'd had the same problem, but had gotten an email a day or two later.