Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

AnimationAn homage to 2001 - A Space Odyssey

TralfazTralfaz412 Posts: 846Member
edited December 2011 in Work in Progress #1
Hey folks,

I've spent a lot of time working on models from 2001 - A Space Odyssey. Although they aren't quite done or need to be reworked, I wanted to start animating them to see how well they all play together with each other.

This first video clip is of the Discovery on it's journey to Jupiter. I tried to get the same type of shots as in the movie. The next video clip will include the pod bay, EVA Pod as well as the cockpit.

As I am a total novice at lighting, any C&C you can provide would be greatly appreciated.

The video is best viewed in full screen HD.

Thanks...
Al
Post edited by Tralfaz on
Tagged:

• kippakippa0 Posts: 0Member
    Amazing piece of work. Yould could have easly mistaken it for the original film. Just curious about one thing, have you added a bit of noise post processing?
  • TralfazTralfaz412 Posts: 846Member
    No I haven't. Why did you ask?
  • kippakippa0 Posts: 0Member
    Ah maybe it is me seeing thinks I thought there was a very verys light hint of noise added to the video. No worries, it is just me. The video is very very good. :)
    No problem kippa. I did add some noise to the hull texture of the Discovery so it wouldn't be an unrealistic smooth finish. I had thought of adding a film grain to the render, but didn't in the end. I am trying a different video format for uploading to YouTube, so it could be the conversion.

Always glad to hear questions or crits. It's the only way I am going to learn.

Thanks...
    Al
  • japetusjapetus2937 SeattlePosts: 1,397Member
    Great work! My one crit would be to boost the lighting up a bit, maybe make it a bit warmer and make sure it comes over the edge in teh side shot to get the outline of Discovery like in the film. Beautiful model!