Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

3DTOS Constitution Reboot Gallery (Model Now Available)

• publiusrpubliusr550 Posts: 1,746Member
    Here’s an idea:

Have it move towards a Doomsday Machine but with Narada’s “tentacle” arms.
  • Hunter GHunter G1905 Posts: 543Member
    as a beginner I have a question regarding how you went about making this 3D model so "tangible". Am I correct to assume that this is what you did to give the same "reach out and touch it" feel to the 3D model of this 1701 Enterprise as I have observed in the 3D model of the Enterprise-D used in the movie "Star Trek Generations"?

1. You turned the sensor grid on the hull into paneling.
    2. You gave the texture of the hull itself a sort of azteching, if that's what you call it. (like what you see on the Enterprise-D and the 1701-A)
    3. Lighting
    4. You added lights that 'light up' the hull similar to what I see what billboards do at night in cities.
    5. You have very sharp contrast to the colors and lighting
    6. You made the lights (navigation lights and blue lighting have a lot of glare) to give the lighting a more organic look, similar to what you observe in LED lights in real life.

Did I miss anything? I hope to make CGI as beautiful as yours someday but I'm going the self taught route. :)

That is pretty much what it is. The number one thing is lighting. For space the light source needs to be very strong, and bounce lighting is essential!
    publiusr wrote: »
    Here’s an idea:

Have it move towards a Doomsday Machine but with Narada’s “tentacle” arms.

I do want to do the Doomsday machine sometime
    GateGirl wrote: »