Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

3Dbackstept's Shipyards - Various WIPs

• KirtemorKirtemor417 Posts: 97Member
    I have my Endeavour NCC-25330 whichis an Essex class refit ealry 24th century so I know where you're coming from. :)
  • dcomprimedcomprime195 Posts: 123Member
    backstept wrote: »
    dcomprime wrote: »
    I have to ask, I'm still a beginner at 3D art...and I must ask, what shape do you use for the main drive section in the beginning?

For the Constitution class I used a circle. Others like the Essex I started with a plane or a cube.

First question I ask when starting a new model is 'what primitive is closest to the shape of the most prominent feature I'm trying to make?' so the secondary hull of the Constitution class starts as a circle and I extrude and scale it to shape. For the Essex I started with a cube and made loop cuts and moved vertices to fit the stretched hexagonal shape and extruded and scaled it to shape. I almost always start with a mirror modifier and subdivision surface modifier.

That helps a lot..thank you.

A quick question, \what shape would you use for the USS Voyager design,.?...since the main drive and saucer are one part?
  • backsteptbackstept2021 Posts: 919Member
    A quick question, \what shape would you use for the USS Voyager design,.?...since the main drive and saucer are one part?