Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

3DNCC-1701, no bloody A,B,C or D (my progress so far)

Paul MoechnerPaul Moechner541 Posts: 126Member
edited December 2022 in Work in Progress #1
Hello all, I work as a volunteer at a start up aerospace R&D organization called IRIS-AsteronX in Mexico and the guy who runs AsteronX is tutoring me on Blender and since I want to design parts for real life aerospace craft and space ships for AsteronX in the future, he encouraged me to learn to 3D model fictional star ships to help me develop the skills I will need to achieve my goals since I can't afford college. After doing the 16 lesson Donut tutorial and a "how to create a CGI earth" tutorial by Blender Guru, I discovered a really cool 46 lesson tutorial on youtube on how to make the 1701 Enterprise and I'm learning SOOO much as a result. This is the perfect "3D modeling exercise" for me. The fact that it uses a much earlier version of blender than what I'm using now just makes it that much more educational. Trying to translate the "layers" aspect of the instructions into how to do it in modern Blender helped me learn/explore the "collections system" in blender for example. Of course it helps I got a friend tutoring me in RL as I go along who is experienced with Blender.

Anyway, here's some pics of my earth model I learned how to create from the blender guru channel and where I'm currently at with the 1701 Enterprise tutorial. I'd show off my donut too but that's not very scifi lol. Here also is a link to the last lesson I completed in the Enterprise tutorial so you all know which tutorial series that I've been referring to in this thread. I was originally showing off my work on facebook, when someone in a blender group introduced me to this forum and encouraged me to share my stuff here.

New thumbnail for this thread:
qztnlfi102zr.png

Tutorial that I'm using:

Earth:

https://ibb.co/w08j3r0

https://ibb.co/7Q7zB9X