Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

3DVallley Forge from Silent Running

star-artstar-art0 Posts: 0Member
edited August 2010 in Work in Progress #1
It seems I'm starting more projects than finishing anything these days. That's because people keep asking me to design/engineer models for them or create patterns for subjects that will be made into garage kits. That's perfectly OK with me, since I can't think of anything else I'd rather be doing! :) Oh well, I'll get around to finishing my own stuff eventually. :lol:

I started drawings for the Valley Forge several years ago for a friend. Someone else has since requested help with this subject, so I'm now getting back to it and trying to finish them up. So far, I've managed to "decode" the complex geometry of the core structure or "spine." I'm building this structure in Rhino 3D.

I had already figured out the geometry of the central spine and made 2D drawings of the structure near the bow of the ship (where all the domes are attached). Since it's modular, once you figure one part out, a lot of it just repeats.

Yesterday, I started turning my original drawings into 3D patterns. I chose to work strictly from photos of the original, since I don't know this subject that well and so I have no idea how accurate any existing plans are. (Although I must say the ones drawn by the late Alan Everhart, Jr. sure look good!)

It was quite challenging to figure out the structure for this ship out in 2D. When I made the original plans, I had not yet made the leap to 3D tools. Building it in 3D definitely helps you figure out a lof of things which is why I now rely on 3D tools when designing or engineering a project.