Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

3DAmbassador Facelift: Meet Aurora

McCMcC373 Posts: 704Member
edited January 2022 in Finished Work #1
m6rwkdgxor62.png

Eight years ago, I finished my Ambassador-class model, then-named USS Trafalgar. A few months ago (mid October or so), I went to see what I could salvage out of the remnants of the files I still had after the hard drive failure I mentioned here, and then proceeded to give the model a facelift. I didn't want to rebuild it entirely; instead, my goal was to fix mesh errors, correct (some) topology issues, update (or recreate, where they had been lost entirely) the textures, and overhaul the shaders based on all the stuff I had learned working on Coro.

I ended up doing far more than I originally planned, but I feel good about the end result. Meet USS Aurora.

imgimgimgimg
imgimg

Full list of updates:
  • Modeling:
    • Fix nonmanifold geometry throughout
    • Add glass to window portals
    • Add ribs to deflector glass
    • Add a mount point for the belly strobe light
    • Recreate hull and stardrive "shells" to use as DataTransfer sources to correct normals
    • Create a new, conformal escape hatch based on the higher-detailed escape hatch used in Star Trek: Generations (previous version was loosely based on Voyager's hatches)
    • Remove some of the existing stardrive windows and replace them with others more consistent with the rest of the ship
  • Texturing:
    • Fix UVs, especially on the saucer
    • Switch textures to UDIMs
    • Re-create all original texture masters in Krita (formerly, Photoshop), including layer comps
    • Re-create all base color textures as vector files in Inkscape, sourcing colors from color-corrected photos of the studio model
    • Re-create the nacelle texture from scratch
    • Update the stardrive texture to remove some weird curves from the dark blue "grid" area
  • Shaders: