Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

ModelingGalaxy Class Engineering Hull

MikeFinleyMusicMikeFinleyMusic172 Posts: 60Member
Hi everyone,
This probably sounds like an incredibly basic question - I'm fairly new to 3D modelling - but I'm doing my first TNG era ship (I started with TOS ones, which, as you know, are mostly primitives with a bit of fun tweaking) and I cannot get the Engineering Hull of Galaxy Class down.
I've tried splines, I've tried cylinders, planes... the topology just messes up. What's everyone's methods for doing a hull like that?

I'm using Blender but any general help would be hugely appreciated. Thanks a lot!
Post edited by Guerrilla on
Tagged:

• GuerrillaGuerrilla789 HelsinkiPosts: 2,865Administrator
    It's a simple question, but the shape is anything but basic. Subd is probably the way to go. I know @lewisniven was messing with the Galaxy class a while ago. There's a couple of pics here.

lewisniven
    Comco: i entered it manually in the back end
    Join our fancy Discord Server!
  • MikeFinleyMusicMikeFinleyMusic172 Posts: 60Member
    Blimey, that's significantly more impressive than what I can do. It's a VERY strange shape to model.
  • lewisnivenlewisniven2491 UKPosts: 462Member
    edited December 2019 #4
    The engineering hull of the galaxy class has to be one of the hardest shapes to model in terms of star trek ships, so you're really going in at the deep end. My advice it to just start with a plane, as opposed to a primitive that you then divide. Some pics of mine below;

01ckr2lyfvsc.png
    jrk8pr75qcfe.png
    khidf509s4lq.png
    naaazenxmlvt.png
    Post edited by lewisniven on
    Guerrillaevil_genius_180Freak
    edited December 2019 #5