Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

Modifying a mesh

kkragenbrinkkkragenbrink0 Posts: 0Member
So I'm new to modifying meshes, and I feel like a complete tool for asking, but I'm working with Raul Mamoru's Nova Star Trek mesh (http://www.trekmeshes.ch/meshes/meshesdetails.php?Name=NOVA). I've figured out how to do quite a bit with positioning, placing additional objects, lighting, and cameras; what I can't figure out is how to modify the mesh itself. For likely obvious reasons, I'd like to change the registry and name on the ship to make it my own. Can anyone give me some tips on this?
Post edited by kkragenbrink on

• spacefighterspacefighter2 Posts: 0Member
    ok, there are some crucial questions we need answers to if we are to help you, or suggest how you could help yourself, on this.
    1. what software are you modifying it with
    2. is the number you want to change modelled geometrically or simply "painted" on with a texture

also note that your link does not work.
    welcome to the forum.
  • kkragenbrinkkkragenbrink0 Posts: 0Member
    Hey, I'm dumb, I thought I had put that in there. I currently have both a trial version of Lightwave, as well as a full version of 3ds Max 2014 available to me. I also have photoshop, which can open .obj files, but somehow I'm thinking that's not the best approach, here.

Near as I can tell, it's modeled geometrically. I was able to remove some of the lettering by switching to edit vertices mode. Doing so, however, seemed to remove the text as well as the physical features of the other side of the model; I'm not sure why. This of course means I can't simply remove the text and add it back in in post-editing. I'm a little confused.