Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

Blender- how to make an animated Photon torpedo

crasher925crasher9250 Posts: 0Member
hey i'm new to blender and i can't really figure out how to make a photon torpedo can someone help??
Post edited by crasher925 on
Tagged:

• spacefighterspacefighter2 Posts: 0Member
    crasher925 wrote: »
    hey i'm new to blender and i can't really figure out how to make a photon torpedo can someone help??

i am a blender user so i have some idea of what you should do, once you have a model of a starship(if you're new to blender modelling is really hard so you may wish to import from sketchup) to fire the photon torpedo, add a sphere in blender(uv sphere is probably best) set the material on it to red(red 1, blue 0, green 0) and set a glow value of maybe around 3 or 4 under emit. then use the compositor to create lens flare using glare effects(i can explain further if you need help). to animate just keyframe it around with the "g" key to move it and "I" to set the keyframes, there is also a method of making it follow a path. i use it often for making ships fly along certain routes whilst having the same end pointing in the direction of travel at all times, sadly i would have to check how it is done so will need a while before i can tell you the trick.

i assume that answers the question, if it does not please explain what else you want the photon torpedo to do and how else you want it to appear. hope i helped.
  • crasher925crasher9250 Posts: 0Member
    then use the compositor to create lens flare using glare effects(i can explain further if you need help).
    i assume that answers the question, if it does not please explain what else you want the photon torpedo to do and how else you want it to appear. hope i helped.

I'm a complete n00b to this so can you please explain the compositor further??

thx

-crasher
    ok, the compostior...