Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

Tutorial: Creating a Lightsaber in Cinema.

[Deleted User][Deleted User]11 Posts: 4,002Member
Hey guys. I'm here to teach you something thats probably really simple. How to make a Lightsaber in Cinema 4D. Every tutorial I write (which is a very little number lol), I go by the belief that you shouldn't have to have prerequisite knowledge in the aspects used (if that makes sense, lol). So I'll try to cover everything used in the tutorial to the best of my knowledge (I've only started using Cinema this year).

In this tutorial we'll cover some basic aspects like:
  • Bezier Curves
  • Lathe Nurbs
  • Grouping
  • Texturing without UV Mapping*
I say this because I've no knowledge in UV Mapping in Cinema.

Okay. Here we go.

Step 1. Setting Up

Okay, unless you're doing this off the top of your head (which if you are, good luck to you), you're probably wanting a reference picture. I recommend visiting this topic. I'm going to be using shepard137's Kit Fisto Hilt, mainly because it's a good and easy hilt to model without worrying about extra attachments.

Okay. Open up Cinema, and magically you'll be met with a blank modelling space. There is no cause to worry that there is no Lightsaber there. Thats the part that we have to do :p, but first, we'll set up our reference pictures.
Go into your Right view. This is achieved by pressing F3. Now, go into Configure (view port's Edit>Configure or pressing Shift+V), and click on the "Back" tab.

sabtut01pj6.jpg

The optional parts are Size X, Size Y, Offset X, Offset Y, and Transparency. I set my size so it is big enough to see without grid lines interrupting too much. The offset is just to ensure that the center point of the hilt is at the Z axis. I set the transparency to 50 because the background of the ref. image is white, which makes the splines harder to see.

sabtut02pq3.jpg