Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

3DNear future mecha universe wips

• BerkutBerkut1 Posts: 0Member
    thank you. I'm not an expert in the field so I don't know why they do it this way (my best guess is that after the round is deflected it looses much of it's penetration ability) but like half of modern tanks have this turret shape. Some examples are later leo 2s, T-90s, Merkava mk4s. This is supposed to be an IDF tank so I tried to keep some resemblance to general design traits of merkavas.
  • Lizzy777Lizzy7771259 PNWPosts: 756Member
    it was the perspective. The first images and the shadows made it look like the turret was mounted in an odd way. Plus I'm used to seeing the bottom of a turret more flush with the hull of the tank like most American and West European designs.
    "Cry 'Havoc!,' and let slip the corgies of war!"
  • liam887liam887322 SwedenPosts: 575Member
    i dont like the tank no offense but the top just looks to rounded and devoid of details compared to your mechs. If you want i was thinking of contributing to the same universe as ive got loads of similar themed universe vehicles that would suit near future mech combat as both of our universes.
    I had some difficulty designing a tank that would look feasible a few decades into the future. I know it's pretty bold atm but that's because I'm still pretty early into it. I intend to add most of the stuff you see on modern tanks. The european and soviet mechs took me a long time, I've worked on this for a few hours :)

It would be awesome to combine our efforts if you wish. If your models work within the basic rules of the universe.
  • MephMeph331 Posts: 0Member
    Well, May I suggest to dig around the internet for renderings and presentations of the Future Combat System from the US Army, the whole process has been canned by now but if you want to see some ugly- as-hell high-tech light tanks, they're the ones...