Greetings!

Welcome to Scifi-Meshes.com! Click one of these buttons to join in on the fun.

Textures

Valhalla87Valhalla870 Posts: 0Member
Bit of a noob question. I'm really new to 3d modelling, just started with the free personal learning edition of maya. I've used most of the tutorials and read through a tutorial book that I bought, but I still can't fix this. I was bored and messed around a bit, trying to make a stargate-ish earth ship, this is what I came up with:

firstship1.jpg

then I tried to add a texture to see what it looked like.. and this happened:

firstship2.jpg

I've tried and tried to fix it but it always comes out stretched! Is there a way to fix it? Or is it a problem with how I modelled the ship?

Thanks!
Post edited by Valhalla87 on

• backsteptbackstept2073 Posts: 926Member
    try a google search for Maya texturing tutorials, and look for ones on unwrapping :thumb:
    personally I don't know maya, but it's certainly a mapping problem
  • ernestoernesto0 Posts: 0Member
    I don't know maya. But in blender I would say try with flat/cube/tube or sphe in the map input area.

Ciao
  • Valhalla87Valhalla870 Posts: 0Member
    Thanks, I found some tutorials about UV wrapping/unwrapping. I also found an automatic mapping button :D Looks better, but still a long way to go..

Thank :)
  • BDelacroixBDelacroix0 Posts: 0Member
    I only toyed with a free version of Maya years ago. From the looks of it, it looks like a UV map that isn't sized right. Maybe that will give you a direction to work in.
  • D.M.J.D.M.J.0 Posts: 0Member
    Automatic mapping is rarely all it is cracked up to be in Maya. I find its only use is if I'm not actually going to be hand-editing the texture. It is great if I'm going to surface paint the item - then I simply don't care how the UVs are set up. But automatic mapping almost invariably makes a hideous mish-mash of Escher shapes which are next to impossible to decipher and edit in your image app of choice.